Skip to content

Wesson Alderman Greer will not seek another term


Ward 3 alderman Lura Greer has decided not to seek another term of office.  She has served in the post since 1993 and will be concluding her fourth term this summer.

In a letter to the board recently, Greer said that her health is preventing her from fulfilling her duties as alderman at the capacity in which the office requires.  At Tuesday’s meeting of the Wesson Board of Aldermen, she said that she has enjoyed her time as a public servant in Wesson and will miss serving the citizens of Wesson and Ward 3.

On a related matter the board reviewed the election time frame with town clerk Linda Dykes.  Friday was the deadline for candidates to have filed their paperwork.  From Monday, April 27 to Friday, May 1 town hall will be open from 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. for voter registration.  On Saturday, May 2, town hall will be open from 8:00 a.m. to noon.  The last day to register to vote in the June 2 municipal elections is Monday, May 4.

Absentee ballots will be mailed on April 20 for those requesting them.  Absentee voting will be conducted May 23-30 from 8:00 to noon.  On election day, Tuesday, June 2, the polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Those qualifying as candidates for the six posts on the ballot are:  Mayor–Alton Shaw, incumbent, unopposed; Alderman at Large–Van Graham, incumbent, unopposed; Ward 1 – Kenneth Roberts, incumbent and Mike Douglas; Ward 2 – John Welter, Jr., incumbent, unopposed; Ward 3 – Billy Ellison, Patricia Carlisle and Kate Hampton; and Ward 4 – Bobby Britt, incumbent, and Randle Drane.

Dykes added that some voters will be shifted into another ward as a result of the town’s recent annexation, and that her office is working with the office of Circuit Clerk Edna Stevens to update the rolls by the end of this week.  A new ward map is available at town hall to help residents with identifying their new wards, especially those in the newly annexed areas, and Dykes urges anyone with questions to contact her office at 601-643-5221.

The board also looked at filling two spots of those working at the polls, but no definitive action was taken.

In other matters, Chief O’Quinn sought and gained the approval of the aldermen to authorize Mayor Shaw to sign an interlocal agreement with several area law enforcement and emergency agencies that will facilitate a grant application for new high-band radios for Wesson police.  O’Quinn explained that Wesson would qualify for a portion of the grant to pay $1,900 each for three high-band radios that will enable the department to communicate with a wide variety of local and regional agencies in the event of a widespread emergency.  The remainder of the funds must be matched by the town in the FY 2010 budget, O’Quinn advised.

The board handled several other routine matters before adjourning, including:

• approved a resolution for Mississippi Development Authority pertaining to Katrina Go Zone Grant funds

• approved a street light for 1123 Milltowne Dr. in Ward 2

• adjusted a water bill for the owner of a vacant mobile home in Ward 4

• approved minutes from the February 3 meeting and approved claims for the month of February.

The next meeting of the board will be on Tuesday, April 7 at 6:00 p.m. at town hall.

Leave a Comment