Skip to content

City election is Tuesday

Voters in the City of Hazlehurst will go to the polls Tuesday for the municipal primary elections.

Candidates will face off for the offices of Mayor and Aldermen in Wards 1, 2 and 4 on the Democratic ballot.Members of the city’s Democratic Executive Committee will also be on the ballot. A sample ballot can be found in this week’s edition of the Copiah County Courier.

Aldermen Shirley Sandifer, Ward 3, and Richard Akin, Ward 5, are unopposed.

None of the candidates face Republican opposition, so the Democratic primary will decide the city’s administration for the next four years.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

The municipalities of Wesson and Georgetown do not hold primary elections. The general election will be June 2.


Polling places for the City of Hazlehurst are as follows:

Ward 1 – North Fire Station, 248 Jackson Street

Ward 2 – Hazlehurst Police Department, 202 E. Whitworth Street

Ward 3 – St. James Church, 107 Banks Street

Ward 4 – Nutrition Program, 112 Simmons Street

Ward 5 – Hazlehurst City Hall, 209 S. Extension Street

Leave a Comment