Skip to content

Mayor Banks wins re-election, Ron Sims new alderman

Unofficial election results Tuesday night show Henry Banks winning another term as Mayor of Hazlehurst. Banks narrowly defeated challenger Chris Perkins with 532 votes over Perkins’ 487.

 In Ward 1, incumbent Alderman Frank Jones with 109 votes won re-election over challenger Charles Magee with 52 votes.

Ron Sims will be the new alderman for Ward 2, defeating incumbent Alderman Frank “Buster” Pickering 108 votes to 88.

Ward 3 Alderman Shirley Sandifer was unopposed.

In Ward 4, incumbent Alderman Daryl McMillian took home 251 votes over his challenger Antonio McGrew with 93 votes.

Ward 5 Alderman Rick Akin was unopposed.

Members of the Hazlehurst Democractic Executive Committee were also on the ballot and re-elected: Patsy Bush, Anna Coates, Pat Moreland, Jeff Varas, and Sandra Williams.

Affidavit ballots will be counted Wednesday morning, but election officials did not believe there were enough affidavits to change the outcome of any of these races. Hazlehurst has 2,930 registered voters, with only roughly a third of them turning out to vote Tuesday.

Hazlehurst does not hold a Republican primary, so Tuesday’s election decided the new city administration without a runoff.

Leave a Comment