Skip to content

Floodwaters closed to boating

Jackson – In response to Executive Order 1053 issued by Gov. Haley Barbour, the Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks is closing all boating activity in counties affected by the recent flooding. These counties include:  Adams, Bolivar, Claiborne, Coahoma, DeSoto, Jefferson, Humphreys, Issaquena, Sharkey, Tunica, Warren, Washington, Wilkinson, and Yazoo. The area can be expanded if needed.

“These actions are being taken to avoid potential damage to the levees and danger to the people in the area,” said MDWFP Executive Director Dr. Sam Polles. “Non-emergency boating traffic can create wakes and turbulence that can cause damage to the levees and property within the flooded areas.”

This closure is to be effective on the Mississippi River, any tributary of the Mississippi River,  any flood waters caused by the high waters backing into those tributaries, or any other waterway within the boundaries of the affected counties.

The threat of thunderstorms during the next few days adds to the potential danger in these areas.  The MDWFP is in communication with Peter Nimrod, Chief Engineer with the Board of Mississippi Levee Commissioners and Kelly Greenwood, Chief Engineer with the Yazoo Mississippi Delta Levee Board to address any additional areas of concern.

Leave a Comment