Skip to content

Player of the Year voting complete


Fans of Copiah County football have voted in droves for their Player of the Year.  As of 9:00 Wednesday, December 21, over 500 had cast votes. 
As believed would be the case, the race is tight among the three nominees.  The winner will be announced in next week’s print edition of the Copiah County Courier and online on Wednesday morning.
Voting will cease at noon today.   Poll results will be hidden until the winner is announced. 

• Demetrius Cain-Jr. RB/LB, Hazlehurst Indians
Cain, a pre-season Copiah County Courier Super 7 player, led Hazlehurst to the state 3A title game, earning the Copiah Bank Player of the Week honor several times during the 2011 season.  He eye-popping offensive stats include nearly 1,800 rushing yards, 22 rushing TD’s, and 35 receptions for 404 yards and a TD.  On defense, Cain notched 135 tackles and one fumble recovery.
• Derrick Lyles – Defensive End, Wesson Cobras
Lyles had a standout senior season after being named to the pre-season Copiah County Courier Super 7.  The 6’2″, 240 lb. defensive end recorded 92 tackles, including 8 sacks, 3 fumble recoveries and forced two fumbles.  He was selected the Region 6-2A Defensive Player of the Year and was named to the Mississippi Association of Coaches 2A all-state Second Team.
• Kelton Smith – RB, Copiah Academy Colonels
Smith, another Copiah County Courier Super 7 member in 2011, had an electrifying campaign despite being injured midway through the season.  In 9 games, Smith carried 184 times for 1,596 yards.  His total all-purpose yardage of 2,596 yards puts him near the top in the Colonel record book.  He scored 14 times rushing and returned 6 kickoffs for touchdowns.  Smith was also named to the MAIS South  All-Star squad.

Leave a Comment