Skip to content

Local municipal races set

Candidates for municipal offices in Copiah County are set. May 7th is the primary election day.   
As of the March 8 qualifying deadline, these are the candidates: In Hazlehurst, (Mayor) incumbent Henry C. Banks, Daphine (Polly) Foster and Sharon Longino Tarrio; (Alderman) Ward 1 incumbent Frank A. Jones, Jessie R. Larry and Rev. Charles (Bail Bondsmen) Magee; Ward 2 incumbent Ronald Sims, Dr. Bettie McDaniel and Eddie Virgil; Ward 3 incumbent Shirley Ann ‘Bea’ Sandifer; Ward 4 incumbent Daryl K. McMillan, Sr., Kenneth Coleman, Robert Curtis and Preston J. Williams; and Ward 5 incumbent Richard B. Akin.
There are three Democratic Executive Committee candidates: Arlene Norells-Harris, Linda (Bookey) Maymon, Paula Stewart.
All candidates are running as Democrats.
In Wesson, voters will go to the polling place to vote in only one race that has a challenger-the mayoral.  Incumbent Alton Shaw is being challenged by local businessman Pete Skinner.
Of note in Wesson, current Ward 4 alderman Bobby Britt is not seeking re-election.  The only candidate to qualify is Mike King, who will become the next representative of Ward 4.
All other wards will retain their current representative: Mike Douglas, Ward 1; John Welter, Jr., Ward 2; and, Billy Ellison, Ward 3. Van Graham will return as Alderman-at-large, and currently serves as Mayor Pro Tem.
All candidates in Wesson qualified as independents.
In Georgetown, current Mayor Robert W. Windom, Jr. is seeking re-election, and is uncontested.
The aldermen race is simple. Voters will elect five from the field of qualifying candidates. The candidates are incumbents Jeff Craft, Russ Dubose, Robert Haynes, Shelia Childers, and Faye Berry. Butch Vaughn and Ernest Thornhill have also qualified to run.

Leave a Comment