Skip to content

Voters elect Jackson supervisor, support Hood for Governor

Copiah County voters turned out yesterday to cast their ballots in the general election. Most races had already been decided in the primaries, but two supervisor races in the county and virtually all statewide races were decided in the general election yesterday. Copiah County has approximately 20,000 registered voters and 9,214 of them, or 46 percent turned out to vote yesterday. Locally, the District One and District Five Supervisor races were on the ballot. In District One, incumbent Daryl K. McMillian, Sr. successfully held off a challenge from Sue Barlow Johnson. McMillian, the Democratic nominee, prevailed with 73 percent of the vote, 1,378 to 504. Johnson ran as an independent. In District Five, which was an open seat because of the retirement of long-time Jimmy Phillips, Judson Jackson won in a three-man field. Jackson received 957 or 48.38 percent of the total votes cast. Dwayne Thompson, the Democratic nominee, received 684 and Darren “Big D” Powell received 334 votes. Jackson and Powell ran as independents. The only other local contested race on the ballot was for a seat on the Hazlehurst Municipal Separate School Board. Paul Rhodes prevailed in a three person race with 1,078 votes. Yolanda B. Brown received 398 and Gloria E. Sandifer received 662 votes. County voters cast approximately 57 percent of their votes for Jim Hood to be Mississippi’s next governor. However, statewide, Tate Reeves prevailed and is Governor-elect. These vote totals are incomplete and unofficial. Absentee and affidavit ballots are yet to be counted.

Leave a Comment