Evans nominated for The Congress of Future Medical Leaders

Gabrielle Evans

Gabrielle Evans, a sophomore at Madison-Ridgeland Academy in Madison, is a delegate to the Congress of Future Medical Leaders in Lowell, Mass., on June 24-26.
The Congress is an honors-only program for high school students who want to become physicians or go into medical research fields. The purpose of this event is to honor, inspire, motivate, and direct the top students in the country interested in these careers to stay true to their dream and after the event, to provide a path, plan, and resources to help them reach their goal.
Evans’ nomination was signed by Dr. Mario Capecchi, winner of the Nobel Prize in Medicine and the Science Director of the National Academy of Future Physicians and Medical Scientists, to represent Mississippi based on her academic achievement, leadership potential, and determination to serve humanity in the field of medicine.
During the three-day Congress, Evans will join students from across the country and hear Nobel Laureates and National Medal of Science Winners talk about leading medical research, be given advice from Ivy League and top medical school deans on what to expect in medical school, witness stories told by patients who are living medical miracles, be inspired by fellow teen medical science prodigies, and learn about cutting-edge advances and the future in medicine and medical technology.
This is a crucial time in America when there’s a need for more doctors and medical scientists who are even better prepared for a future that is changing exponentially. Focused, bright, and determined students like Evans are the future and she deserves all the mentoring and guidance that can be given her.
Evans is the daughter of Arthur “Trey” and Sophia Evans, of Byram. She is the granddaughter of the late Deloris Williams and Leroy Johnson, and Arthur Lee”Pokey” and Judy Evans, all of Crystal Springs.
She is a member of The National Honor Society, National Spanish Society, Mu Alpha Theta, Pre-Med Club, Student Leadership Institute, Ambassador, and Varsity Cheerleading Squad.