Skip to content

School News

Mississippi Trucking Association Foundation awards scholarships for current school year

Over 30 years ago, the Mississippi Trucking Association Foundation Scholarship Program was created. The primary objective of the Foundation, a 501(c) (3) charitable corporation designed to receive contributions, memorial gifts and property, is to promote educational projects related to the trucking industry and provide scholarships to deserving students who have ties to the trucking industry…

Read More

HCC announces local summer graduates

A total of 593 Hinds Community College students graduated in one of three ceremonies on July 30, with 320 students choosing to participate in one of the ceremonies. Hinds awarded a total of 700 credentials, with some students earning more than one credential. Of the total 593 graduates, 85 graduated cum laude, 53 graduated magna…

Read More

Local student graduates in surgical technology at Holmes CC

The Holmes Community College Ridgeland Campus held a pinning ceremony for the Surgical Technology Class of 2021 on June 24 in the McGowan Workforce Training Center. Five students were honored. Graduates included Ashley Boles, of Canton; Precious Conner, of Vicksburg; Kaylee Dupre, of Hazlehurst; Leah Brooke Irby, of Canton; and Anne Shannon, of Brookhaven. The…

Read More

Hazlehurst school district extends Summer Food Program

The Hazlehurst City School District will extend the 2021 Summer Feeding Program through July 22. Meals will be provided to all children without charge Monday through Thursday at Hazlehurst Elementary/Middle School Cafeteria. The schedule is as follows: breakfast, 7:30-8:15 a.m.; and lunch,11 a.m.-12:15 p.m. The program will be closed July 5.

Read More

WAC announces honors scholars

Wesson Attendance Center has announced honors scholars for the fourth nine weeks of the 2020-2021 school year. Students named to the Superintendent’s List include: First grade – Paris Marie Beasley, Madalyn Rose Benton, Derren Jess Brister Jr., Bently Easton Burns, Madelynn Faye Coleman, Bryant Price Collins, Tinley Elizabeth Douglas, Kolton Wade Ferguson, Asher Rhodes Formby,…

Read More

MSU announces President’s and Dean’s Lists

Mississippi State University has announced the President’s and Dean’s Lists for the 2021 spring semester. Students on the President’s List achieved a 3.80 or better grade-point average, based on a 4.0 scale, while completing at least 12 semester hours of course work with no incomplete grades or grades lower than a C. Local students named…

Read More