Skip to content

Kolpek, O’Brien selected to 2012 All-USA Community College Academic Team

Kimberly Kolpek

    ORLANDO, Fla. – Copiah-Lincoln Community College sophomores Kimberly Kolpek of Wesson and Faith O’Brien of Natchez were selected to the 2012 All-USA Community College Academic Team. Only 20 students from more than 1,700 nominations were selected for this prestigious honor. Co-Lin was the only Mississippi community college represented on the team and the only college with more than one student on the team. The All-USA Community College Academic Team is presented by USA TODAY and Phi Theta Kappa and is sponsored by Follett Higher Education Group.
    “We are so proud of Kimberly and Faith and their accomplishments at Co-Lin and in the community,” said Co-Lin President Dr. Ronnie Nettles. “They are great representatives of the college. To be the only college in the country to have two students on the team of 20 speaks volumes for these two students and the hard work and diligence of our faculty and staff.”
    All-USA Community College Academic Team members were featured in a full-age section in the USA Today newspaper on Monday, April 23, 2012. Each member will receive a $2,500 scholarship and special medallion. A commemorative obelisk was presented to the college in honor of the students. The awards were presented during the Phi Theta Kappa Presidents Breakfast held during the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) Convention in Orlando, Florida.
Kimberly Kolpek
Kimberly, a student on Co-Lin’s Wesson Campus, serves as Vice President of Scholarship for Phi Theta Kappa, reporter for Sigma Kappa Delta, and sophomore class representative. She is a member of the Baptist Student Union, Future Teachers of America, and technical writer for the Sea Wolves Robotics Team.
In addition to her selection to the All-USA Academic Team, Kimberly was named a Coca-Cola New Century Scholar. She receives a $2,000 scholarship and plaque from the Coca-Foundation and Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. She was also listed in the April 23rd issue of USA TODAY featuring the Coca-Cola New Century Scholars, 50 Gold, 50 Silver and 50 Bronze Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Scholars. The New Century Scholars were honored at a reception and program during the AACC Convention.
    A President’s List scholar, Kimberly was selected to the All-Mississippi Academic First Team, Campus Favorite, Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges, Phi Theta Kappa Eta Omega Chapter’s Officer of the Year, Outstanding Humanities Student of the Year, and was recently inducted into the 2012 Hall of Fame, Co-Lin’s most prestigious honor.
    She is the recipient of the Taylor Presidential Scholarship, Plum Creek Children of Employees Scholarship, Lions Club Jimmy Hodges Memorial Fund Scholarship, and the Dr. Rex R. Pearce Memorial Scholarship.
    Kimberly plans to continue her education at the University of Southern Mississippi majoring in English. She is the daughter of Ken and Suzanne McQuage of Wesson.
Faith O’Brien
Faith, a student on Co-Lin’s Natchez Campus, serves as president of the Alpha Alpha Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, secretary of the Student Government Association, and Secretary of the Spanish Club.
A President’s list scholar, Faith was named to the All-Mississippi Academic Second Team and is a member of Circle K and the Trailblazers.
Faith was selected to Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges, Student of the Month, and was recently inducted into the 2012 Hall of Fame, Co-Lin’s most prestigious honor.
A biochemical engineering major, Faith is the daughter of Frank and Jeannie O’Brien of Natchez.   ###

Leave a Comment