Skip to content

Copiah County included in federal disaster declaration following Isaac


WASHINGTON, D.C. — The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency announced that federal aid has been made available to the State of Mississippi to supplement state and local response efforts in the area affected by Hurricane Isaac beginning on August 26, 2012, and continuing. 

Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work in Amite, Attala, Carroll, Clarke, Copiah, Covington, Forrest, George, Greene, Grenada, Hancock, Harrison, Hinds, Holmes, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Montgomery, Pearl River, Perry, Pike, Rankin, Stone, Walthall, Wayne, Wilkinson, and Yazoo counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Terry L. Quarles has been named the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.  Quarles said that additional counties and forms of assistance may be added after the Preliminary Damage Assessments are fully completed.

Leave a Comment