Skip to content

Incumbents re-elected in Hazlehurst elections

Poll workers direct a voter to a booth during Tuesday’s Democratic primary in Hazlehurst.

Election Day saw a slow, but steady stream of voters in Hazlehurst making their voices known at the various polling places around town. Over 1,400 voters cast ballots.
Unofficial results show incumbent mayor Henry Banks defeated challengers Daphine ‘Polly’ Foster and Sharron S. Longino-Tarrio in the primary.  Banks garnered 51.9% of the vote, while Foster captured 34.6% and Longino-Tarrio received 13.5%.
Three incumbent aldermen had challengers.  Voters in Wards One, Two and Four had to decide between at least three candidates in each of those races.
In Ward One, Frank ‘Andre’ Jones, the incumbent, defeated challengers Jesse R. Larry and Rev. Charles Magee.  Jones got 52.3% and will retain his seat without a run-off.
In Ward Two, incumbent alderman Ron Sims  defeated Dr. Bettie McDaniel and Eddie Stanley Virgil with 61.4% of the vote and retained his seat.
Daryl K. McMillian, Sr., the incumbent in Ward 4, got 70.8% of the vote, defeating challengers Robert Curtis, Kenneth Coleman and Preston Williams.
Since all races were decided with incumbents earning over 50% + 1 of the vote, no runoff will be needed and all will be sworn in on July 1 for a new term.
Two races were uncontested.  Alderman Shirely Ann “Bea” Sandifer in Ward Three and Alderman Richard B. Akin in Ward 5 will return to their post in July.
Voter turnout was about normal compared to elections in recent years. with roughly  40% of the total voting age population in Hazlehurst casting ballots.
The Democratic Executive Committee must now validate the results.

Leave a Comment